# OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE 20 MAY 2023

### Item 4 - Scrutiny arrangements for 2023-24

Motion Moved: Councillor

**Seconded: Councillor** 

1. That the size and composition of the overview and scrutiny committee as agreed by council assembly – detailed below be noted (Note: Chair and Vice-Chair positions agreed by council assembly).

# **Overview and Scrutiny Committee**

#### Membership

	Labarra (O)	Liberal Development (2)
	Labour (9)	Liberal Democrats (2)
1.	Ian Wingfield (Chair)	Victor Chamberlain
2.	Margy Newens	Irina von Wiese (vice chair)
3.	Chloe Tomlinson	
4.	Ellie Cumbo	
5.	Suzanne Abachor	
6	Laura Johnson	
7	Sunny Lambe	
8	Jon Hartley	
9	Bethan Roberts	
Rese	rves	
	Labour (0)	Liberal Democrate (2)
	Labour (9)	Liberal Democrats (2)
1.	Sarah King	Rachel Bentley
2.	Sandra Rhule	Jane Salmon
3.	Cleo Soanes	
4.	Sam Dalton	
5.	Andy Simmons	
6.	Sunil Chopra	
7.	Sam Foster	
8.	Esme Hicks	
9.		
Votin	g co-optee places (4) (Able to v	ote on Education Function related
issue	s only)	
1.	Church of England Diocese	Tbc
	representative	
2.	Roman Catholic Diocese representative	Tbc

3.	Elected Parent governor	Tbc
	representative x2	

**Remit:** As set out in paragraph 6.1 of the constitution, with specific scrutiny responsibility in respect of:

- Council's policy and budget framework
- Regeneration
- Human Resources and the council's role as an employer and corporate practice generally
- Customer access issues, including digital strategy, information technology and communications
- The council's equalities and diversity programmes

-----

2. That scrutiny commissions be established as set out below for the 2023-24 municipal year, with the chairs and vice-chairs as listed (pages 2 to 4). The Health and Social Care Scrutiny commission to be given responsibility for Health matters, and the Housing and Community Safety Scrutiny commission to be given responsibility for Crime and Disorder matters.

(Remits: Each commission will have within their remit, oversight responsibility for the areas reflected in their titles. Detail of the specific areas of responsibility to be drawn from the cabinet member portfolios following the meeting.

As and when required, the Overview and scrutiny committee may call upon a commission to undertake a piece of work that does not necessarily sit with another commission's identified remit of responsibility.)

#### **Education and Local Economy Scrutiny Commission**

Seven seats: 5 Labour / 2 Liberal Democrats (4 Co-optees)

	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)
1.	Chloe Tomlinson	Rachel Bentley
2.	Jason Ochere	Irina von Wiese
3.	Joseph Vambe	
4.	John Batteson	
5.	Renata Hamvas	
Reserv	res	
	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)
1.	Maggie Browning	Adam Hood
2.	Bethan Roberts	
3.	Laura Johnson	
4.	Victoria Mills	
5.	Sunil Chopra	

Voting Co-optee places			
1.	Church of England Diocese representative	Tbc	
2.	Roman Catholic Diocese representative	Tbc	
3.	Elected Parent Governor representatives x 2	Tbc	
Non-\	Non-Voting Co-optee places		
	To be considered at the discretion of the commission		

# **Environment and Community Engagement Scrutiny Commission**

Seven seats: 5 Labour / 2 Liberal Democrats

	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)
1.	Margy Newens	Graham Neale (vice chair)
2.	Cassandra Brown	David Watson
3.	Leo Pollak	
4.	Reggie Popoola	
5.	Ketzia Harper	
Reser	ves	
	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)
1.	John Batteson	Rachel Bentley
2.	Kimberly McIntosh	Adam Hood
3.	Natasha Ennin	
4.	Gavin Edwards	
5.	Renata Hamvas	
Non-v	oting co-opted places	
	To be considered at the	
	discretion of the commission	

## **Health and Social Care Scrutiny Commission**

Seven seats: 5 Labour / 2 Liberal Democrats

	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)
1.	Suzanne Abachor	Nick Johnson
2.	Richard Leeming	Maria Linforth-Hall (vice chair)
3.	Esme Dobson	
4.	Sandra Rhule	
5.	Sam Dalton	
Reserves		

	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)
1.	Kath Whittam	Victor Chamberlain
2.	Naima Ali	David Watson
3.	Charlie Smith	
4.	Sunil Chopra	
5.	Sabina Emmanuel	
Non	Voting Co-opted places	
	To be considered at the	
	discretion of the commission	

# **Housing and Community Safety Scrutiny Commission**

Seven seats: 5 Labour / 2 Liberal Democrats (3 Co-opted places)

	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)
1.	Ellie Cumbo	Jane Salmon
2.	Barrie Hargrove	Emily Tester
3.	Esme Hicks	
4.	Sam Foster	
5.	Kim McIntosh	
Rese	rves	
	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)
1.	Portia Mwangangye	Adam Hood
2.	Sam Dalton	Hamish McCallum
3.	Joseph Vambe	
4.	Ketzia Harper	
5.	Cleo Soanes	
Non-	oting co-opted places (3)	
1.	Tenants Forum	Tbc
2.	Homeowners Forum	Tbc
3.	Southwark Tenant Management	Tbc
	Organisations Committee	
	Additional non-voting co-opted	
	places to be considered at the	
	discretion of the commission	

# 3. Nominations to Joint Health Overview and Scrutiny Committees

• South East London Joint Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee (2 places)

Labour – Councillor Suzanne Abachor

Liberal Democrats -

## 4. Indicative work programme topics 2023-24

Any proposed work programme topics for 2023-24 as listed (if blank, then no topics are being proposed).